Skip to main content
  • Home
  • News
  • April 2022 Statler Circuit: Department Digest and Awards

April 2022 Statler Circuit: Department Digest and Awards

Statler College Circuit - Department Digest and Awards

The Statler Circuit is a monthly digest of news from Statler College departments and organizations that showcases the continued successes and accomplishments of our faculty, staff and students.


Anurag Srivastava , Raymond J. Lane Professor and Chairperson of the  Lane Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, will be co-chairing the 10th Workshop on Modeling and Simulation of Cyber-Physical Energy Systems on Tuesday, May 3. The online workshop will be held as part of the Cyber-Physical Systems and Internet-of-Things Week.


Andrew Nix , associate professor of  mechanical and aerospace engineering, will be a keynote speaker at the 6th edition of the Summer School on Advanced Research in Turbomachinery (ART2022), organized by the Department of Industrial Engineering at the University of Florence. Nix will discuss gas turbine components heat transfer and cooling. The summer school, held from June 27 to July 1, is aimed at providing engineering professionals and young researchers with an overview on both the most relevant issues in turbomachinery research and the current trends in turbomachinery design and analysis. 


Syd Peng, Charles E. Lawall Chair Emeritus of  mining engineering at  West Virginia University, is slated to be inducted into the Class of 2022 National Mining Hall of Fame on Oct. 29. Selected by the National Mining Hall of Fame’s Board of Governors, the inductees are honored for trailblazing a commitment to sustainability concepts, leading the mineral royalty business, building academic mining program, innovations in coal mine ground control and longwall mining, and advocating for a strong domestic mining industry to supply the nation’s needs for critical materials. 


During the Statler College Research Week Open House that took place on April 12, the Statler College Research Office conducted a Graduate Student Symposium. A total of 40 posters submitted for review with four designated faculty judging for 1st and 2nd Place categories and the "People's Choice Award" was judged by the general public by popular vote. Ali Zafari and Atefeh Khosh Khahtinat won first place for "Neural Image Compression on Solar dynamics Observatory." Moktari Mostofa won second place for "An End to End Deep Super-Resolution for Face Recognition in the Wild" and the People's Choice award was awarded for "Towards Futuristic Autonomous Experimentation-A Surprise-Reacting Sequential Experimental Polics" to Ahmed Shoyeb. The 1st Place team was awarded $1,000 support for the students to present their work in a conference, the 2nd Place team and People's Choice Award team won $500 each to support the students' travel.


The Biomedical Engineering Society ,   American Chemical Society Student Affiliates ,   and  Biochemistry Club  were awarded the  Outstanding Teamwork/Collaboration by a Student Organization award by the  West Virginia University  Division of Student Life. The recipients were honored for their accomplishments during the Student Engagement and Leadership annual Student Organization Excellence Awards Banquet on April 19.



Contact: Paige Nesbit
Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources
304.293.4135, Paige Nesbit

For more information on news and events in the West Virginia University Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, contact our Marketing and Communications office:

Phone: 304-293-4135