Skip to main content
  • Home
  • News
  • Kecojevic appointed interim chair of Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Kecojevic appointed interim chair of Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Vladislave Kecojevic

Vladislav Kecojevic is appointed interim chair of the civil and environmental engineering department.

Vladislav Kecojevic, professor and Robert E. Murray Chair of mining engineering at West Virginia University, has been selected as the interim chair of the Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, effective August 21, 2022.

Story by Tara Heffernan, Multi-Media Specialist
Submitted Photo


“The institutions of higher education today face many challenges and headwinds, increasing the number of students that enroll and attend these institutions is just one of them. The Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering faculty at WVU is uniquely positioned to address these challenges,” Kecojevic said. “As an interim chair, I am pleased to work with our faculty to establish a new degree in environmental engineering which will be housed within the Wadsworth department. With a growing need for environmental engineers, there is an opportunity for us to fill the gap, educate and train future generations that will excitedly take on environmental challenges ahead and contribute building a more sustainable society.”

Kecojevic joined the Department of Mining Engineering in 2010 before becoming the interim chair of mining engineering in 2017 and permanent chair of mining engineering in 2018. Kecojevic began his academic career at The Pennsylvania State University in 2001, held the Centennial Career Development Professorship in Mining Engineering from 2005-2009 and the Massey Foundation Professorship at WVU from 2012 to 2018.

His research areas of expertise include surface mining, surface mine safety, information technology and environmental issues in surface mining. Kecojevic’s research has been funded by the mining industry, equipment manufacturers and governmental agencies. He has published his research work in a leading mining- and safety-related peer-reviewed journals.

Kecojevic has been recognized internationally for his contributions to the mining industry. Most recently, he has been honored as the 2022 SME Fellow and, in 2019, awarded SME Coal and Energy Division Distinguished Service Award.

“I want to thank Dr. Kecojevic for his strong leadership and willingness to help the Wadsworth department and the College,” said Pedro Mago, Glen H. Hiner Dean of the Statler College. “I am very excited about the future of the civil and environmental engineering program under Dr. Kecojevic’s leadership and am confident he will do an outstanding job.”

Kecojevic will replace Hema Siriwardane, whom Mago praised for his “many years of hard work and dedication as Department chair.” Siriwardane, professor and chair of the Wadsworth Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, has retired effective August 12, 2022.

“I want to take this opportunity to thank and acknowledge Dr. Siriwardane,” Mago said. "We are grateful for his leadership, service and every effort he has made to support the students, faculty and staff in the Wadsworth Department and the College.”

Kecojevic will continue in his roles as professor and Robert E. Murrary Chair of mining engineering while in this role as interim chair.



Contact: Paige Nesbit
Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources
304.293.4135, Paige Nesbit

For more information on news and events in the West Virginia University Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, contact our Marketing and Communications office:

Phone: 304-293-4135